Skip to content


BC Rural Health Awards 

RCCbc presents the BC Rural Health Awards each spring to recognize and honour rural doctors and communities for their inspiring contributions to improving the health of rural British Columbians. The following two categories were awarded at the BC Rural Health Conference (RHC):  

RCCbc’s Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine Lifetime Achievement honours a rural physician who has dedicated their career to serving one or more rural communities and has significantly impacted and/or influenced rural health provincially, nationally and/or internationally. The physician must be nominated by a third party. 

The Rural BC Community Award honours a community that has developed innovative and collaborative approaches and/or solutions to local healthcare issues, or supported and enhanced the sustainability of the rural healthcare services and/or providers within their community. A community may nominate itself or be nominated by a third party. 

2022 Rural Health Award Winners


Whistler honoured with Rural BC Community Award

RCCbc was proud to recognize the community of Whistler with the 2022 Rural BC Community Award for their outstanding partnership-building approach to healthcare during the COVID-19 pandemic. Through their social prescription model, Whistler’s healthcare teams and community organizations provided holistic care to their most vulnerable citizens at a time of great need.

Dr. Lauri-Ann Shearer Receives BC Rural Health Award for Lifetime Achievement

Against this backdrop, the recipient of the BC Rural Health Award – Lifetime Achievement, Dr. Lauri-Ann Shearer, was honored for her exceptional contributions to improving healthcare on the Central Coast over the past 18 years. Dr. Shearer is a highly respected physician, leader, friend, and ally, as evidenced by her 65-page nomination for the award, which underscores her tremendous impact on her community.

Recognizing Rural Physicians: 2022 RHC Above and Beyond Awardees

The Rural Health Conference (RHC) celebrates rural physicians who go “Above and Beyond” in their service and commitment to supporting rural healthcare in their communities. In 2022, Drs. Paul Warbeck (Nisga’s Valley), Francois Bosman (Gabriola Island), and John Soles (Clearwater) were recognized and honored at the RHC for their exceptional contributions.

Explore the Numbers

5 Award winners

5 Award winners

Recognizing and honouring rural doctors and communities for their inspiring contributions to improving the health of rural British Columbians.

Plans for the Future

RCCbc is committed to hosting annual nominations for the BC Rural Community and Lifetime achievement categories, as we believe it is crucial to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of those who go above and beyond to make a difference in their communities and healthcare systems. It is an honour for us to provide this recognition among their peers, partners and communities. 

Team Members

Click on a team member to explore which other projects they have contributed to in the past year.

Projects You Might Also Be Interested In